Posted by: NiTessine | May 7, 2010

Still Alive, Just Working on Ropecon

It’s been a while. I haven’t updated for way too long, and I’m sorry for that. There’s just been very little to update about, and I’ve been wrestling essays, a particularly nasty strain of seasonal flu, and a series of exams, often at the same time. Also, girlfriend and Mass Effect 2 – more positive things, but still time sinks.

My Rise of the Runelords Pathfinder campaign went on a summer break after we completed The Hook Mountain Massacre. Come autumn, when school starts up again we’ll continue with The Fortress of the Stone Giants. I’m aiming to bring back Legacy of Fire for the summer, left off in the beginning stages of The Jackal’s Price last year.

The Eclipse Phase game came to naught, presumably because of the proximity of May Day, which is a big celebration over here, especially among the students that form the core of my player base over here. Well, c’est la vie. I’ll try again later. I’ve promised this month’s game to be Decipher’s Star Trek, though. I’ve got very little free time, though, so this may also yet change.

However, there’s still some gaming stuff going on. Even if the dice themselves aren’t getting the workout they’d need, I’m always doing or reading something. Like Ropecon. For one thing, our GM sign-up opened last week. A couple of days ago, we announced our adventure module contest, with the theme of “vampire as the enemy”. Also, our guests of honour have been announced. The more recent GoH announcement was about the board game designer Friedemann Friese, probably best known for Power Grid, but the one I’m assuming is of far greater interest to the readers of this blog is Keith Baker, the creator of Eberron and the designer of Gloom, and an all-around great guy based on my interactions with him. As is known, I invited him over last year when he was doing his Have Dice, Will Travel thing. Alas, the plans fell through, and this year we figured we’d do it right and invite him properly and officially as a Guest of Honour, with all the perks that entails. I look forward to meeting him.

Also, Evil Hat Productions finally released their Dresden Files RPG in PDF. It comes in two books, available as a nice little bundle of a bit under 700 pages for €30. I’ve been flipping through the files for the past two days and I like what I see. I got mine off DriveThruRPG. I’m not familiar with FATE as a system, but it seems simple enough, and I now have an excuse to get funky new Fudge dice. They’ve also got a freebie preview available, the Baltimore chapter of the rulebook.

Well, that’s it for now. I’m still alive and will try to be better about updating this blog in the near future.

Incidentally, anybody know of any gaming stores in Bratislava? Heading down there next week for a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 773 other followers

