Posted by: NiTessine | January 6, 2014

New Year, New Tricks

So, that was 2013.

For Worlds in a Handful of Dice, it was not a particularly remarkable year. I managed to pen a total of mere 15 posts, mostly convention reports. The year’s main event seems to have been in February, when I reported about Laborinthus, my peculiar find in a Zurich game shop. Reddit found it and showed up in great force.

The conventions were largely the reason it was so quiet over here. Between Ropecon, Tracon, and a third non-gaming event, I had way too much on my plate and came close to a burnout in the spring. I managed to muddle through Ropecon, had fortunately very few responsibilities for Tracon, and then had another annoying load of metaphorical bricks come down on me in the autumn, leading to me blowing a number of deadlines and generally not getting a whole lot done.

The year’s gaming was mostly Pathfinder Society, which has now reached sufficient autonomy that it barely needs my intervention to continue and grow. I also ran a game of Stalker late in the year, which I thought went rather well and drew my attention to an interesting fact about the system: it is possible for the GM to keep it entirely hidden from the players if they so wish. There was additionally a session of Paranoia XP, my first since the 90′s, which I shall not talk about any further. I played some Lamentations of the Flame Princess, too, and did some Myrrysmiehet playtesting. Alongside the Pathfinder Society campaign, a friend of mine started running Curse of the Crimson Throne, which is about one session away from wrapping up the first book.

I also larped for the first time in April. I am happy with both the experience and the blog post, partly because of the excellent photography of Tuomas Puikkonen.

The gaming world at large, then?

Well, Myrrysmiehet came out with the GM book for our game Vihan lapset. My contribution was primarily editorial, and I am very happy with the game. We also released Lännen maat, a role-playing game about the Egyptian afterlife, written by Risto J. Hieta, the Father of Finnish Role-Playing. The Glorantha Association of Finland released their translation of HeroQuest, which is also a very solid piece of work. There’s also Melidian, the spiritual successor of the elfgames Rapier and Elhendi. This is the only time you will ever see me use the term “elfgame”, by the way. I make an exception for games where you explicitly play only elven player characters. Tracon also saw the release of Lohikäärmeliitto, an OSR-like curio, and late in the year, Burger Games produced the free PDF of Crimson Rovers (scroll down a bit), a game about exploring and colonizing Mars. It’s in English, by the way. There was also the usual pile of Lamentations of the Flame Princess products, such as Vincent Baker’s The Seclusium of Orphone and his charmingly titled Ropecon scenario Fuck for Satan.

Paizo ran the open playtest for the Advanced Class Guide. While I am not strictly certain of the necessity of adding yet another pile of base classes to the already teetering tower, the hybrid class system seems to be a good way to do it. It limits multiclass dipping, and some of the ideas seem fairly clever. I am not fond of the hunter being married to their pet, though.

This year, I shall endeavour to have a higher rate of actual content-to-hamsters. Thanks to being involved with the Helsinki in 2017 Worldcon bid, I will also be digressing to that side of the fandom more frequently. These Hugo Awards are utterly fascinating…


Responses

  1. Wait a minute! I thought you Finns were more “open minded” than that!?

    I mean, if a guy wants to marry his pet goat . . . after all, it’s not like he’s marrying a troglodyte!

    Well, kind a not.

    ROFL

    Are they really doing that, NeTessine, or are you pulling my leg?

  2. Ah, it’s an expression I use for classes that come with an animal companion or familiar class feature that cannot be substituted for something else. In the core rules, the druid, the ranger, the paladin, the wizard and the sorcerer all have alternatives for their animal friends. I’m not a big fan of classes that don’t have such alternatives, like the cavalier or the hunter.

  3. (Also, I feel I should add, marrying your household pets is not in fact legal in Finland and engaging in physical relations with them will be prosecuted as animal abuse. We’re pretty open-minded, but we also take this thing called “informed consent” pretty seriously.)

  4. Lohikäärmeliitto julkaistiin muuten jo Ropeconissa. Traconissa tuli toinen 30 kappaleen painos valtaisaa kysyntää tyydyttämään :D

    ja sen voi ladata myös netistä: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1o8svy5niww8636/Lohik%C3%A4%C3%A4rmeliitto.pdf


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

