Posted by: NiTessine | June 28, 2009

News Update

Well, I’ve got good news and bad news.

The bad news first: Keith Baker is not coming to Ropecon, after all. Considering his travel schedule, it’s not a surprise that burnout is threatening, and he’s got a deadline three days after the convention. It is understandable but unfortunate. We’ll try again next year.

The good news, then: Paizo Publishing has announced that the Pathfinder RPG PDF will be selling for $10. In real money, it’s about €7,1, or about 1,3 beers at O’Connell’s down the street. There’s no real excuse at this point not to buy it if you’re even mildly interested in the game. It’s 576 pages long, and will be released on August 13th.

I’m spending the weekend in Tampere and had the occasion to run Pathfinder Society for Thanuir of Cogito, ergo ludo. He posted his feelings about the adventure and the campaign to his blog. It’s interesting to read players’ accounts of games I’ve run, and his opinions are even more interesting since his usual gaming style is very different from mine.

Also, apparently BoardGameGeek.com is working on a sister site for roleplaying games. I can’t find an ETA for the finished product, but once it’s done, it ought to be all kinds of awesome. The ability to track my RPG collection online holds a certain interest for me and my ego. I measure my worth as a human being by my bookshelf.


Responses

  1. I measure my worth as a human being by my bookshelf.

    You should have very few issues with low self-esteem, then.

  2. Paizo Publishing has announced that the Pathfinder RPG PDF will be selling for $10.

    *blinkblinks*

    Now that’s the way PDF sales should be done. Will definitely be buying.

  3. Paizo knows pretty much how to run their business, that is for sure. Brilliant idea on the rule book.

    I’ve been keeping track of my RPG, actually all my books, at Library Thing for a couple of years. Granted it is not a specialized as the future BGG site will be but since that is future tense, you might like to check out Librarything.com

    Mine collection is at http://www.librarything.com/catalog/Buzzregog

  4. I have a copy of Pathfinder preordered from Amazon. I prefer dead tree versions of gaming books.

    My wife and I live in a two bedroom apartment. We have twenty-one book shelves. Of that, some 60+ feet is dedicated to RPG box sets and books. I’ve been collecting RPGs since 1978. I have the largest collection that I have ever personally encountered.

    So, do I win?🙂

  5. 10$ for pdf version? Though not particulary interested in D&D and as such hadn’t been planning to get Pathfinder(Traveller for me forever!) that’s price that makes it VERY tempting nevertheless.

    Not product suitable for gaming(I hate reading PDF’s during game session and printing that would get expensive + bunch of printed papers suck anyway IMO) but if I ever do get inspiration(and chance) to play pathfinder atleast I can tell from the PDF whether it’s worth investing for the real book. Sorta like cheap full preview then!

    Good move for Paizo I think. This might get even people who normally wouldn’t be interested in buying it get one and maybe get hardcover version later on😉 Sneaky!


Leave a Reply

Categories

