News Post: An Intermission

I’d otherwise be writing up a summary of the sixth lecture of the RPG course, but the slides aren’t online yet. It’ll probably happen sometime during next week. I’ll still be doing the two remaining lecture summaries, a post about the Praedor session, a summary of the games for the course, and I’m also thinking of writing up a review of the course. Since I can’t do it for Roolipelaaja, I’ll have to do it here. I may also put my study diary up for download once it’s finished, if there is interest. For now, I will take a look at some recent events outside the classroom.

Regarding the comments that I’m no longer as funny as I used to be now that I’m no longer reviewing 4E… well, gimme a 4E book to review and I’ll rip it apart for you. They aren’t giving me freebies, I don’t know anyone who buys the stuff and could loan me something to review and I’m sure as hell not going to pay for it myself. That said, I may soon be trashing something else.

D&D Brand Manager Scott Rouse announced on EN World a couple of days ago that he’s leaving the company. It is unclear if he got the boot or resigned, but I don’t think the annual round of Christmas layoffs is due for another month, and it’s not explicitly stated that he was laid off, so I’m inclined to think the latter. It is also unclear what, if anything, this portends. Some see it as an impending sign of the Fifth Edition, but really, neither the D&D Brand Manager changing or someone leaving from WotC is an exactly uncommon occurrence. According to Charles Ryan, Rouse’s four-year tenure is among the longest, if not the longest, in the position. I am curious to see who will be filling his boots. Rouse is known for being the only guy at WotC with the barest inkling of public relations and damage control. Those are some largish boots to fill.

Last week, Clark Peterson of Necromancer Games told us that “we were right, he was wrong”, pertaining to his decision to hold back a bunch of adventure modules so they might be released as 4E products under the GSL. The modules are now out in D&D 3.5, available as PDF. They are the mini-campaigns Eamonvale Incursion and Demonheart and the first part of the semi-mega campaign Slumbering Tsar. It’s “semi-mega”, because apparently the whole trilogy will clock in at half a million words. Slumbering Tsar is written by Greg A. Vaughan, who’s also written a bunch of Pathfinder adventures for Paizo.

Speaking of Pathfinder, the second Pathfinder Society Open Call for the PFRPG rules is up. Submissions due on the 30th, which, incidentally, is the same day as my study diary and two days from another writing deadline I’ve got. I’ll see if I have time to participate this time.

In other news (news, my foot, it’s two weeks old), Dennis Detwiller is working on Godlike 2E. You may recall me gushing unabashedly about the game last year. Detwiller is asking for corrections on spelling and geographical errors, but also does well in noting that the historical context of the game does not need updating. The 1940’s were a racist and sexist age, and to try and whitewash that would be all kinds of moronic in a game like Godlike where the whole damn point is gritty and realistic take on superheroes.

On the Ropecon front, the dates for Ropecon 2010 are July 23rd-25th (two weeks before Gen Con Indy), and the main organisers have been chosen. I have applied to to return as the RPG admin.

Leave a Reply

