One Module, Every Game

I was recently made the guy in charge of organising roleplaying game sessions in the unofficial decision-making body of Tyr, the Tampere University RPG club.

You might assume this is a big thing, but really, Tyr does mostly everything except play RPGs. I think the primary activity of the club is volleyball, nowadays. I’ll see if I can do something about changing this, but that’s not my foremost concern at the moment.

Interestingly, said decision-making body is called the Grey Council, and yes, it does have nine members. So, I’m guessing that makes me a Satai. I love my titles. I’m also the Commissar of the Northern Reaches for the Espoo Science Fiction Club and the Master of Game Masters at Ropecon. Man, I gotta have some calling cards printed.

Anyway, I’m now laying plans for a game day in late February. Possibly making them a monthly thing. Another guy at the club suggested that I use the opportunity to run one-shots of my rather extensive and sadly unplayed collection of games. Then, he followed that up with a forum thread (in Finnish, sorry) where he brought up the idea of creating a single module and running it in every game, adapting it as necessary to the themes and style of the game. Another guy in the thread suggested that were such a project done, a file were created and published online with the adaptation details.

Well, I’ll be doing one better, and blogging about it. Additionally, since I’m lazy, I will not be writing up an adventure, but using a published module, one available in PDF, and cheap. I’m not yet decided on the particular module, but I’m thinking I’ll use either The Frozen Fingers of Midnight by Craig Shackleton or Perils of the Pirate Pact by Matthieu Dayon. They’re affordable, they can be run in four hours, the structure is simple and easily adaptable to any number of settings and genres, they have a variety of different styles of encounters, and the plots don’t really have any whoa-moments that suffer unduly if the player is familiar with the adventure (I’m assuming that I wouldn’t have all new players for every session). Also, having something available to everyone instead of, say, a Living Greyhawk module from my hoard as I was initially suggesting, makes it possible for people to participate if they so wish.

Okay, so nobody probably will, but if someone does, they can, alright?

I’m thinking the first game would be Pendragon, 5th edition, and will probably be following that up with stuff like Eclipse Phase and Rogue Trader. I have enough games I’ve never played to do this ’til the day I die, if I so wish.

Because the only thing that a hundred games I never play are good for is bragging rights, here’s a partial list: Pendragon (5E), Eclipse Phase, Rogue Trader, Og – Unearthed Edition, Star Wreck, Classroom Deathmatch, Tähti, Three Sixteen – Carnage Amongst the Stars, Space: 1889, Savage World of Solomon Kane, Savage Worlds, Spycraft (1E & 2E), Conan D20 Atlantean Edition, Warcraft RPG, BESM (2E & 3E), Victoriana, Wild Talents, Trail of Cthulhu, Ikuisuuden laakso, Itran kaupunki, Heimot, E.N.O.C. – Operaatio Eisenberg, Hounds of the Sea, Poison’d, Parhaaseen katseluaikaan (Finnish edition of Primetime Adventures), Drakar och Demoner (6E), Das Schwarze Auge (The German original of The Dark Eye), Vuoren velho (Mountain Witch in Finnish), FVLMINATA, SLA Industries, Cyberpunk 2020, Shadowrun (1E & 3E), CthulhuTech, Orpheus, Hunter: the Reckoning, Vampire: the Requiem, Mage: the Awakening, Werewolf: the Forsaken, Werewolf: Wild West, Legend of the Five Rings (2E & 4E), Reign, Astra, Taiga, GURPS (3E), Nobilis, Judge Dredd D20, Sláine D20, Exalted (2E), Qin, Weapons of the Gods, Babylon 5 D20 (2E)…

Yeah. Add to that the stuff I have only in PDF, and the list is easily doubled, and that’s not even counting stuff I’ve played only once, like Delta Green or Feng Shui or Zombeja! Ovella! (Zombie Cinema for you foreigners).

Of course, on the part of the GM – me – this requires that he learns a new game system every month and grasps it well enough to run a game.

If anything ever comes of this, I will post follow-ups.

4 thoughts on “One Module, Every Game

  1. …you make me want to participate. Bah. Good luck with this, it actually sounds really fucking cool. 😛

  2. Yeah, there will. Keep an eye on the TYR mailing list. I doubt all the tables will fill up, but in case they do, it’s better to be organised.

Leave a Reply

