Posted by: NiTessine | October 8, 2010

There Are Now Two Gorillas in the Room – D&D and PFRPG Tied in Sales

Yesterday, ICv2 released their list of Top 5 best-selling roleplaying games in the third quarter of 2010. There was something surprising in there.

While Pathfinder RPG had held the second place ever since its release, it is now tied with the sovereign market leader of over three decades, Dungeons & Dragons (with the possibly apocryphal single month in the early 90’s when allegedly Vampire: The Masquerade held the top spot).

Of course, there are no actual numbers shown and the methodology is a bit fuzzy, neither WotC nor Paizo release their internal sales data, and it lacks stuff like DDI and Paizo product subscriptions and RPGNow. However, I can easily believe there’s an element of truth to those rankings. WotC will probably reclaim the top spot in the fourth quarter since the Essentials release falls there, but Dungeons & Dragons is no longer the only 800-pound gorilla in the room, whose dominance has been seen as unshakable, unyielding and eternal.

The third and the fourth spots have been occupied by Warhammer Fantasy Role-Play and the 40K roleplaying games for some time now. I expect they will continue to hang in there, especially with the recent release of Deathwatch, which has… strong appeal. I haven’t yet got a copy, but expect a post once I do. There are issues I desire to address.

The fifth spot is taken by Dresden Files RPG, which isn’t surprising since it sold like hotcakes on its release. This is interesting also because Evil Hat has released numbers on their developer blog. The initial print run of a total of 12,000 copies sold out, and they printed up 7,500 books more. So, the cutoff point for the list is somewhere thereabout. I don’t know enough to start speculating anything from those figures, though.

I don’t think DFRPG is going to hang around on the list much longer, though, since there’s no new product in the pipeline the release schedule is very sparse and sustaining core book sales like that is probably not possible. However, I must congratulate Evil Hat for a job well done!

It is an interesting time to be a gamer.


Responses

  1. Yeah Pathfinder! Good going Paizo!
    Though I do believe that WotC will reclaim their status once sales of Essentials is figured in. Though I do admit I hope that Paizo continues to give them a run for their money.
    I love me some D&D, but I won’t complain if PFRPG becomes the big dog of the neighborhood.

  2. Since I don’t subscribe to that (and am not actually interested enough to buy a copy) I am curious what it really means. Is that pure sales figures dollar wise, unit wise, is it “X number of stores said this sold better, Y number said this one did”… And what is being compared, PHB vs. Pathfinder Core rules? Total 4e line sales vs. Pathfinder line sales? I don’t know. I don’t really care which sold best, so I don’t mean to take anything away from anyone here, I just really wonder what the chart really represents and means.

  3. Good questions, actually, and I don’t know the answers. I assume this is product lines and not just core books, though. Wouldn’t make much sense to ignore all those other books, since presumably they are also selling in not-insignificant numbers.

  4. Hey there,

    Just a quick clarifying point: we *are* working on a supplement for the DFRPG, though we don’t have a release date set yet (it’ll be a while).

  5. Ooooooooh! That is awesome news, thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

